Everything You Need To Know About LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga Before You Start Playing

Fans have been waiting for years to get hold of the LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga video game, and with its launch on April 5th 2022, dreams were realized; but gameplay wasn’t immediate because digital downloads had to be finished, day-one patches installed, new character packs installed and unlock codes activated.

So, rather than have our readers wasting time, we’ve put together a list of the essential things you need to know before you get stuck into LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

Leverage Rewards

Plenty of retailers and platforms are offering rewards for digital copies purchased through their console’s download portal, so check yours out before you commit.

  • Microsoft Rewards: are offering a bonus 6000 points if you activate the LEGO Star Wars: Skywalker Saga punchcard before you purchase (expires April 18th).
  • Those who pre-ordered the physical Playstation 4 version and have since moved on to a Playstation 5 can get the PS5™ digital version at no extra cost via an upgraded day-one download.

Buy The Game

If you aren’t fussed about buying through your console’s own shopping platform, or you have store credit elsewhere and haven’t already purchased the title you’ll want to check out our shopping guide to get a good deal.

There are three different physical editions available: Standard (game only), Deluxe (slipcase with exclusive minifigure) and Steelbook (game and metal case), and some retailers have added extra bonuses like a Darth Vader keychain and various polybags to encourage sales.

Start The Downloads

Gamers who bought the digital version early will have had their copy of LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga sat on the hard drives since April 3rd, and have been waiting for the day-one patch to come down their cat-filled interweb pipes to activate the game.

Those only just making the financial leap to secure this game – likely because a lot of retailers have run out of physical stock – will have to face some large downloads before they can play the game.

  • Nintendo Switch -14 Gb
  • Xbox One/X Series – 43 Gb
  • Playstation 4/5 – 38 Gb
  • Windows PC – 40 Gb

Those who opted for the physical editions, or are ready to activate their digital versions, will still have to wait for the day one patch – which is around 280 Mb – to finish before they can get started.

As annoying as these are, they include the DLC character packs and fix a few bugs that have been discovered since the game went gold at the end of February 2022.

Get Your DLC

While there are no expansion levels expected, there are still plenty of new characters to be added to the game’s library. Those who pre-ordered the game will get the following DLC character packs in the day-one patch:

  • Classic Characters
  • The Mandalorian (Season 1)
  • Trooper
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story

Gamers who buy the game on April 5th or afterward will be entitled to the following with additional purchase:

  • April 5th – The Mandalorian (Season 1) and Solo: A Star Wars Story
  • April 19th – Classic Characters
  • May 4th – Trooper, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, The Mandalorian (Season 2) and The Bad Batch

Check out our full guide to all the downloadable content that comes with the game to get all the details you’ll need.

Activate Cheat Codes

If you want to be a true Jedi you’re going to need a little help, and Tt Games have continued to provide cheat codes to make things a bit easier. While these aren’t traditional no clipping, infinite bullets, or god mode, the new ships and characters they access will allow you to get further along in the game.

  • SIDIOUS – Darth Sidious
  • SHUTTLE – The Resistance Transport
  • ARVALA7 – The Razor Crest
  • LIFEDAY – Snow Gonk Droid
  • WROSHYR – Holiday Darth Vader
  • WOOKIEE – Chewbacca (Holiday Special)
  • KORDOKU – Poe Dameron (Holiday Special)
  • TIPYIPS – D-O (Holiday Special)
  • C3PHOHO – C-3PO (Holiday Special)
  • KH7P320 – Aayla Secura
  • XV4WND9 – Admiral Holdo
  • OKV7TLR – Dengar
  • WBFE4GO – Nute Gunray
  • Z55T8CQ – Poggle the Lesser
  • GR2VBXF – Ratts Tyerell
  • SKYSAGA – Snap Wexley
  • 3FCPPVX – Grand Moff Tarkin
  • BAC1CKP – Mr Bones

To use the codes above (which we’ll update as more are unlocked) you’ll need to pause the game, click on the key icon at the bottom of the screen, and then use the on-screen keyboard to type in the code. Once you’ve typed in the last letter the game will confirm that the code has been redeemed.

Unlock The Collectable Detector

Known as the red brick detector in previous LEGO Star Wars video games (and a few other LEGO titles) by Tt Games, LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga has a Collectable Detector upgrade that will highlight important collectibles – like Kyber bricks, minikits, and unlockable characters in the current area with an on-screen marker.

  1. Pause the game and navigate to the Upgrades icon
  2. Unlock the two prerequisite upgrades
  3. Upgrade to Collectable Detector (costs 10,000 coins and 5 Kyber bricks)

While it’s a permanent perk that’ll quickly pay for itself, it does require a considerable amount of investment in Kyber bricks and coins before you can unlock this tool.

Are you ready to play? Us too!

Make sure to come back (you could even subscribe for notifications) over the next week as we report back on our LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga experiences. If you already have your own thoughts to share, feel free to comment below.

Entertainment Earth

Be the first to comment

Thoughts, comments or opinions? Share them!